Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award Recognizes Myrna D. Schlegel and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman

Myrna D. Schlegel and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman have been named the recipients of the 10th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by Bank of Texas and Texas Woman’s University and the Texas Woman’s University Foundation. The announcement was made at a private reception in the home of Jan Miller and Jeff Rich on October 19. Texas Woman’s University Chancellor and President Dr. Ann Stuart will present the award at the Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon event Feb. 16, 2012, at the Belo Mansion.
Dr. Ann Stuart (Chancellor and President), Mayor Mike Rawlings, Myrna D. Schlegel, Kimberly Schlegel Whitman, Norm Bagwell (Chairman and CEO, Bank of Texas, presenting sponsor of the TWU VCD luncheon in Feb.), Virginia Chandler Dykes, Jan Miller (TWU VCD announcement reception host)

Established in 2002, the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award is given annually to Dallas leaders with a life-long commitment to improving the quality of life in the community and to furthering the importance of education. Past award recipients are Joel Allision, Kathleen Mason, Caroline Rose Hunt, T. Boone Pickens, Lindalyn Adams, Dr. and Mrs. Kern Wildenthal, Gretchen Minyard Williams and J.L. “Sonny” Williams, Geraldine “Tincy” Miller, and Susan and Charles Cooper.

Myrna D. Schlegel and her daughter Kimberly Schlegel Whitman are a dynamic Dallas mother/daughter duo whose work within the community and beyond does not go unnoticed. From serving in community leadership roles to supporting charitable and nonprofit organizations with their time and resources, to furthering education, they live by the family philosophy, “To whom much has been given, much will be required.”

“Kimberly and I are truly humbled and honored to be the recipients of the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award on this special 10th anniversary,” said Myrna D. Schlegel. “It’s so very special to share this honor with Kimberly and to be associated with TWU, whose faculty works each day ensuring that our future health care professionals are not only receiving a top education but also learning the importance of research, teaching, and leadership.”
Justin and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman; Caroline Whitman; Myrna and Bob Schlegel; Kari and Troy Kloewer; Jan Miller

“What a very special honor to receive this distinguished award with my mother who has been a wonderful role model for me over the years,” said Kimberly Schlegel Whitman. “We both appreciate all that Texas Woman’s University means to this community and beyond and are humbled to join the list of outstanding previous recipients.”

The 2011 Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award Luncheon Advisory Committee members are: Ebby Halliday Acers, Joel Allison, Lana and Barry Andrews, Norm Bagwell, Barbara Bradfield, Mary M. Brinegar, April Box Chamberlain, Arlene and John Dayton, John Falldine, Louise Gartner, Suzy Gekiere, Sharon McCullough, Bill Patterson, Dee Collins Torbert, Amy Turner, and Dee Wyly.

Tickets for the February 16 luncheon are $175 for silver patron; $250 for gold patron. For more information, call 940-898-3878 or email

No comments:

Post a Comment