Thursday, November 6, 2014

2014 Awards for Excellence in Community Service Recipients Honored at Hall of State

On October 29, the Dallas Historical Society hosted a patron party for 2014 Awards for Excellence in Community Service recipients, sponsors and distinguished guests. It was a true Texas affair as guests arrived at the Hall of State at Fair Park, one of the most beautiful art deco buildings in the state. Set for November 20 at the Fairmont Hotel, the luncheon is the Dallas Historical Society’s largest and most important fundraising event to support its educational and preservation programs.
Jack Bunning (DHS ex. dir.), Lynn and Allan McBee (DHS co-chairmen)
Lynn and Allan McBee, Dallas Historical Society’s co-chairmen of the board of trustees, welcomed guests in the G.B. Dealey Library West Texas room. Lynn remarked, “Welcome to the Dallas Historical Society’s patron party. We are in a historic room that has been redesigned as a research library to access the organization’s extensive collection. DHS processes more than 2,000 research requests per year. Speaking of collections, just last week, the granddaughter of Judge Lew Sterrett donated scrapbooks and personal papers of the judge to the collection.”
Margaret and Glenn Solomon (DHS Awards for Excellence event co-chairmen)
Allan McBee introduced Margaret and Glenn Solomon, co-chairs of the DHS Awards for excellence in Community Service event. Glenn said, “The Awards for Excellence in Community Service are presented on behalf of the Dallas Historical Society to the designated recipients who are deserving of recognition for their generosity of spirit, civic leadership and ability to encourage community-wide participation in a particular phase of the growth of the city. Thank you to the Honorary Chairs Lee Cullum and Laura Wilson.
Patrick Kelly, Judy Kelly, Dr. Claude Prestidge, Kevin Moriarty, Stuart Bumpas, Lynn and Allan McBee (DHS co-chairman
The distinguished recipients were announced by Margaret Solomon and other DHS Trustees:
Arts Leadership – Kevin Moriarty
Business – Robert A. Estrada
Creative Arts – Judy and Patrick Kelly
Education – Mary and Mike Terry
Health/Science Medicine – Claude B. Prestidge, M.D.
Humanities – S.M. Wright Foundation
Philanthropy – Stuart Bumpas
Volunteer Community Leadership – Judy Rorrie
Jubilee History Makers – Natalie (Schatzie) Lee
Hall of State at Fair Park

No comments:

Post a Comment