Wednesday, April 23, 2014

The Mad Hatter's Tea

The tenth of April was full of fun for our friend Pat Holder of Pat Holder and Associates.  She graciously wrote up her version of the day's events for your enjoyment:

The 26th Annual Mad Hatter’s Tea Party, Serenade to Style, was held on Thursday, April 10, 2014, at The Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden.
Heidi Dillon, one of the Hat Judges, and Honorary Chair Gina Ginsberg
The weather was perfect and you could almost hear the birds singing as the guests started arriving in their gorgeous hats for the 10:30 Champagne Reception and Hat Judging in the Ginsburg Plaza. This year there were eight awards given for the various hat categories, including the new Gentlemen Only category.  The winner of each category received a prize generously donated by Bachendorf’s.

There was such an array of lovely hats that it was almost impossible to select the favorites. However, some did immediately take your eye and were so original that you wondered how they ever came up with the idea. The hat judges were Heidi Dillon (Founder of the Fashionista’s), Michael Faircloth (Michael Faircloth Designs), Patti Flowers (Patti Flowers Design Studio), Sam Ratcliffe (Head of Bywaters Special Collections in SMU’s Jake & Nancy Hamon Arts Library), Gary Riggs (Interior Designer & Artist), Clarice Tinsley (News Anchor, Fox 4), Maxine Trowbridge (Editor, PaperCity), and Janine Turner (Actress, Author, Talk Radio Host). 

Jill Rowlett, Yvonne Crum
After the Champagne Reception, the crowd moved to Rosine Hall where the renowned fashion icon and model, Jan Strimple of Planet Productions, orchestrated and presented the spectacular Serenade to Style Fashion Show with fabulous runway models wearing fashion designs from Highland Park Village, including Diane von Furstenberg, Escada, Lela Rose and The Hair Bar.

Jocelyn White, Emcee, and Linda Spina
The delightful and lighthearted, Jocelyn White, was the Tea Emcee. She introduced Gina Ginsburg, noted Dallas philanthropist and accomplished businesswoman, as the Honorary Chair of the Mad Hatter’s Tea.  Also, presented were Lisa Loy Laughlin, Mad Hatter’s Tea Chair and Bettina Hennessy, President of the Women’s Council of the Dallas Arboretum.  Other officers of the Mad Hatter’s Tea Committee were presented along with the Hat Judges.  The Sponsors and Patrons were given special recognition.
LeeAnne Locken

The audience got louder as the anticipation rose regarding the winners of the Hat Contest. As the names were called, the winners started walking toward the stage. The following awards were given:
Over the Rainbow (Most Colorfully Flamboyant) - Faye Briggs
My Favorite Things (Chic Couture) - Jewel Williams  
The Yellow Rose of Texas (Most Elegant) - Carmen Godwin
Edelweiss (A Vintage Look) - Libby Zerner
Tip Toe Through the Tulips (Most Whimsical) - Joanie White
Do Re Mi (Most Creative Use of Natural Materials) - LeeAnne Locken
Best of Show - Jill Rowlett 

Shane Walker
The award for the Gentlemen Only category went to Shane Walker, Shane Walker Design. His personal hat was outstanding and many of the women were wearing his hat creations. Watching along side was Billy Fulmer, who also helped Shane create some of the hat designs.  Note: Steve Kemble was original in his milk carton hat (he tried to hide his identity, but everyone figured out who he was).

After the Hat Awards, the group went back to the Ginsberg Plaza for a seated luncheon among the glorious blooms of spring.

contributed by Pat Holder of Pat Holder and Assoc.
Lori Alexander, Patrizia Pelfrey

Joani White

Faye Briggs

Carmaleta Whiteley

Lisa Loy Laughlin, Chair; Bettina Hennessey, President, Women's Council Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden

Photos by Dana Driensky and Daniel Driensky

No comments:

Post a Comment